10 Poker Hall Of Fame Nominations Announced

by | Published: Thursday, October 6th, 2011

Ten nominees have been announced as in the running to join the class of 2011 Poker Hall Of Fame.

There can be one or more eventual inductees selected off a strict criteria designed to honour only the very best.

Just to be nominated for the Hall Of Fame a person must have played poker at the elite level in high stakes tournaments over a sustained period of time earning the respect of his or her peers in the process.

A person can also be a non-player who has in some way contributed to the game in a way which has promoted extended growth or popularity.

Nominees must also be at least 40 years of age at the time of nomination.

This year’s nominations include Barry Greenstein, Annie Duke, Jennifer Harman, Marcel Luske, Scotty Nguyen, John Juanda, Linda Johnson, Huck Seed, Tom McEvoy, and Jack McClelland.

Greenstein is known as the Robin Hood of Poker as he donates all of his tournament winnings to charity. Over that period he’s won over $7.5 million, three WSOP bracelets and two WPT championship titles.

Duke has played for the last decade and won millions of dollars including a WSOP bracelet and the 2004 ¬†WSOP Tournament of Champions title. She also won last year’s National Heads-Up Poker Championship worth $500,000.

Harman is considered by many to be the best high stakes female player ever, something backed up by her two WSOP bracelets and $2.6 million in earnings.

Luske is often called the Flying Dutchman and has totalled around $4 million in career earnings all while being a real character of the table.

Nguyen won the 1998 WSOP Main Event, a 2006 WPT title and a special event in the 2008 WSOP. He’s also scored himself well over $11 million in the process.

Juanda has notched up five WSOP bracelets and sits in sixth spot on the all-time money winners list with approximately $12 million to date from tournaments alone.

Johnson won a WSOP bracelet on the 1997 tour but her reason for nominations comes outside live play. She was the former publisher of CardPlayer magazine and co-founder the Tournament Directors Association. In addition to that she’s a poker writer and organiser of CardPlayer cruises. She also co-founded charity website pokergives.org.

Seed was a 1996 WSOP main event champion as well as 2009 National heads up champion. Last year he also won the WSOP tournament of champions.

McEvoy’s win dates all the way back to the 1983 WSOP main event where he became the first main event winner to get there through satellite. Since then he won a further three WSOP bracelets and is also an accomplished author.

McClelland is the Tournament Director for both the WSOP and the WPT.

The winner of winners will be selected by a 17 member jury as well as the 18 living Poker Hall of Famers.

A final announcement will be made later this month with presentations to be made as part of the November Nine.

Why not start your road to Poker Hall Of Fame stardom by creating an account now at Titan Poker Titan Poker

We all need to start off somewhere so why not with the fastest growing online poker company and the one more professionals are turning to.

They trust it, we trust it and you should trust it to, join Titan Poker Titan Poker today!

More Poker News on: