Posts Tagged ‘Phil Laak’

2013 Party Poker WPT Canadian Spring Championship Underway

by | Published: Monday, May 6th, 2013

The penultimate event of Season XI of the World Poker Tour – The Party Poker Party Poker Canadian Spring Championship – is underway at the Playground Poker Club in Quebec.

The Canadian Spring Championship is split into three different starting flights and after the first two flights French Canadian Philippe Boucher is the leader with 278,100 in chips.

The first flight was not a successful day for recognised poker professionals with World Poker Tour Player of the Year leader Matt Salsberg, 1996 World Series of Poker Main Event winner Huck Seed and former World Poker Tour winner Will Failla the three biggest names who managed to progress to the second day of the event.

Not as lucky were last year’s winner Jonathan Roy, 2006 World Series of Poker player of the year Jeff Madsen or Poker Hall of Fame member Mike Sexton.

The rules of the WPT Canadian Spring Championship give players the opportunity to play in all three starting flights and a number of leading players who were eliminated on day one tried their luck again in the second flight.

Phil Laak was one of these players and was randomly seated at the exact same seat and table on both days.

Laak was confident that this quirky occurrence would be enough to see him advance to the second day of the event but he was sent to the rail early once again as were Roy, Madsen and Tony Dunst.

The chip leader at the end of the second flight was Matt Kay who won a massive pot at the end of the day and now has 270,400 in chips, almost 100,000 more than Mike Bartholomew who finished the flight in second place with 186,500 in chips.

The final flight of day 1 takes place today and we will keep you up to date with the results here at

If you want to join the pros at the Canadian Spring Championship sign-up and deposit at Party Poker Party Poker.

Duhamel Takes Early Lead In Premier League VI

by | Published: Wednesday, March 20th, 2013

The Party Poker Party Poker Premier League VI began this Sunday at the Aspers Casino with sixteen of the world’s leading professional poker players doing battle for $450,000.

The sixteen players were split into two groups of eight and both pools have now completed their opening events.

Group A kicked off the tournament and definitely looked like the more stacked table with Antonio Esfandiari, Jonathan Duhamel, Sam Trickett, Marvin Rettenmaier, Daniel Cates, Daniel Negreanu, Phill Hellmuth and last year’s winner Scott Seiver all doing battle.

Scott Seiver’s quest to defend his title did not start well and he was the first player to be eliminated and was quickly followed to the rail by Daniel Cates.

The next elimination involved the final two of the 2012 Big One For One Drop tournament and Sam Trickett gained a small slice of revenge by eliminating Antonio Esfandiari.

Phill Hellmuth was uncharacteristically quiet during the event and was eliminated in fifth place before Daniel Negreanu joined him on the rail just two hands later.

The in-form Marvin Rettenmaier had steadily built himself a decent chip stack but was crippled by Trickett and eliminated just a few hands later.

At the beginning of the heads-up battle Trickett had a clear chip lead over Jonathan Duhamel but the pair traded momentum back and forth before Duhamel was able to claim victory when his Ace-Nine held up against Trickett’s King-Jack.

Duhamel scored sixteen points for his victory that has him sitting in the box seat to qualify for the final table of the event while Seiver and Esfandiari have a great deal of work to do.

While Group B didn’t have as many big names as the first group the quality of poker was just as high.

Tony G lost a big hand against Talal Shakerchi early and was never able to recover becoming the first player in Group B to be eliminated.

Shakerchi raced away to an early chip lead but some overly aggressive play saw him eliminated in seventh position and earn just two points.

Igor Kurganov was a last minute call-up to Party Poker Party PokerPremier League VI but he was able to take advantage off his opportunity and was the next player sent to the rail.

After a slow start Phil Laak got involved in the action but ran into the trips of Tobias Reinkemeier and finished in fifth place.

Jason Mercier was the favorite heading into this table but he found himself short-stacked and was the next player eliminated by Reinkemeier.

Jennifer Tilly was the surprise packet of the group but joined the line of players to be eliminated by Reinkemeier and finished in third position.

Despite his dominance of the table Reinkemeier only held a slight chip lead over Dan Shak going into the heads-up battle.

Shak took a slight lead early in the piece but a showdown between Shak’s King-Queen and Reinkemier’s Ace-Five gave the German a massive chip lead and he claimed victory on the very next hand.

Both groups will play three more heats, with top three players from each group advancing to the final table.

Premier League VI is sponsored by Party Poker Party Poker one of the leading online poker rooms.


First Four Players Named For Premier League VI

by | Published: Tuesday, February 12th, 2013

The sixth edition of the Party Poker Party Poker Premier League will be held in London’s Aspers Casino from the 17th to the 23rd of March.

Party Poker Party Poker said the event will feature sixteen of the best players in the world and if the first four names announced for the tournament are any indication this could be one of the most exciting television poker events of the year.

Defending champion Scott Seiver, Daniel Negreanu, Phil Hellmuth and Antonio Esfandiari have all confirmed that they will be playing in the event.

Seiver has an amazing run in the Premier League last year defeating poker superstars Phil Laak, Sam Trickett and Patrik Antonius on his way to claiming the title and the $500,000 first place prize.

Seiver is excited to return to the event and is aiming to become the first player to win the Premier League Title back to back.

“I really enjoyed the interesting format last year and it was great to win,” Seiver said.

“I am looking forward to defending my title.”

The ever popular Negreanu will return to the tournament for the first time since season IV and said he was really looking forward to face off against other world class poker players.

“I’m really excited to be back playing the Premier League this year,” Negreanu said.

“I love the format and unique events like this are great for poker.

“I’m honored to be invited and happily support the event and plan on winning it.”

Hellmuth had great success in Europe last year, winning the 2012 World Series of Poker Europe Main Event, and said he was keen to add another honor to his incredible poker resume.

“I am looking forward to competing in the Premier League: 16 players, 1 winner,” Hellmuth said.

Hellmuth will be joined by Big One For One Drop winner and occasional nemesis Antonio Esfandiari who will be making his Premier League Poker debut.

“For years I have been hearing about Premier League Poker and it’s nice to finally make it over there to play in it,” Esfandiari said.

The Premier League will maintain its unique format in 2013 with the sixteen players being split into two separate groups before battling it out to win a seat at the final table of the event.

The tournament will run alongside the inaugural Party Poker Party Poker World Poker Tour National London Event.

Titan Poker Titan Poker is the home of the professionals so if you want to join them on the World Poker Tour join them online!